Eurydice report on mainstream education in Europe

These two new reports provide basic and easy-to-understand information on schooling in Europe.

Compulsory Education in Europe 2019/20   provides concise information on the duration of compulsory education/training in 43 European education systems, covering 38 countries participating in the EU’s Erasmus+ programme (28 Member States, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Switzerland, North Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia and Turkey).

Full-time compulsory education/training refers to a period of full-time educational/training attendance required of all students.

The Structure of the European Education Systems 2019/20 provides information on the structure of mainstream education in European countries from pre-primary to tertiary level for the 2019/20 school and academic year. It includes national schematic diagrams, a guide to reading the diagrams and a map showing the main organisational models of primary and lower secondary education. The information is available for 43 European education systems covering 38 countries participating in the EU’s Erasmus+ programme.